Back to Blog Home

Amazon Will Start Collecting Sales Tax Nationwide on April 1st

dtran5 profile picture
March 28, 2017 · 9.5k Views

amazon app


Starting April 1st, Amazon will collect sales tax nationwide. The e-commerce site has been steadily adding more and more states to their list of jurisdictions from which it collects sales tax, and starting in just a few days, the last of the qualified states - Hawaii, Idaho, Maine, and New Mexico - will complete the list. Only Alaska, Delaware, Oregon, Montana, and New Hampshire will be exempt from sales tax. 

lightbulb icon Subscribe to our Amazon email alerts so you stay in the know with the latest news, promotions, and more!

As Amazon continues to open more data centers, warehouses, and facilities across the United States, they are falling more and more under the law that requires retailers to gather sales tax if they physically occupy the same state where buyers are residing. Although shoppers may not appreciate this new collection of taxes, many government officials are claiming that this will give smaller businesses the opportunity to compete with Amazon as taxes serve to balance the playing field. Moreover, the revenue generated from taxes will help lower a state's income taxes. 

If you're in one of the new states that will undergo Amazon's new sales levies, how do you feel about it? Let us know in the comments below!

ebay 3-day guaranteed delivery

costco delivery


dtran5 profile picture
Daisy loves to write with humor and can be quite the sarcastic commentator when it is appropriate. Loves carbs, fashion, staying active, and pinning the latest DIY projects for her room (which she will actually never do).

Related Posts